Reviews about Footsteps Eco-lodge

TripAdvisor verified holiday reviews!

Nicky G
6 February 2024
Verified
This place is a gem As a solo female traveller visiting The Gambia for the first time I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but this eco-lodge was superb. On arrival I was given a tour of all the different areas of the lodge, and the staff, who are all friendly and helpful, took the trouble to learn my name. I stayed in one of the round houses, which was clean, comfortable and spacious. The food was consistently delicious, and I particularly enjoyed trying the Gambian dishes. The evening meal was eaten at a huge round table with the other guests, as well as David and Linda (the owners), and there was plenty of great conversation. I went to The Gambia for the birdwatching and wasn’t disappointed. The lodge’s birding guide, Lamin, really knows his stuff and we saw a fabulous range of birds on days out, and within the grounds of the lodge. I felt really well looked after throughout. What really sets this place apart though, is the ambiance…I truly felt as though I’d just gone to stay with friends and already want to return for a second visit.
meikster
22 January 2024
Verified
Wonderful place, owner and staff! Footsteps is a great place on all sorts of levels. The property is beautiful and well-maintained. Accommodations are super comfy and clean (we stayed in the round-house as well as the villa Kaira Bunga). David (the owner) is an awesome resource when it comes to getting tips for excursions and things to do and the entire staff is amazing, caring and very helpful. They all seem to operate as a family which made us feel right at home and part of the community. The food is delicious and we loved chef Fatou's varied and thought out menus. After each day trip we were happy to return to the Lodge. It really did feel like home. Would go back any time and can only highly recommend!
Bourlingueur*in
20 January 2024
Verified
Perfect for travelers who search for a community! It’s a beautiful and clean place to stay if you search for a community and be surrounded by travelers who want to join group happenings. The Gambian employees do a wonderful job and the friendly owner David tries his best to integrate the nature and its resources in his sustainable lodge as well as the Gambian community! The area around and the villages are very local and wonderful!
Mike
18 January 2024
Verified
Beautiful location, wonderful people, excellent food I enjoyed an excellent week at Footsteps in January 2023*. As a solo traveller who finds meeting new people and socialising challenging, I was made to feel very welcome by the attentive and friendly staff. The food was really fantastic, the people, both guests and staff, were very friendly. It was great to meet a range of people over the week, with old guests departing and new ones arriving. The accomodation was comfortable. My favourite evening of the stay was definitely the weekly BBQ! The local birdlife was simply fantastic. It was my first time visiting sub-saharan Africa, and I was dazzled by the sheer variety of beautiful and charismatic bird species in the lodge grounds and on the short walk to the beach (which is beautiful and very quiet). There is a protected woodland next to Footsteps filled with even more birds. The on-site bird guide Lamin Bojang is very knowledgable and day trips can easily be arranged with him (whether birding or otherwise). If you are looking for a beautiful location away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist area, I couldn't recommend Footsteps too much! *I couldn't select Jan 2023 as it was more than a year ago, so selected Feb 2023.
Sian C
12 January 2024
Verified
The best place to go in January We just love the place - been 5 times now. Always great hospitality, lovely staff , food excellent and always interesting people to meet . Not to mention the wonderful attractions of The Gambia - such a beautiful country, friendly people and amazing wildlife Plus sunshine!
Marc Eeckhaut
12 January 2024
Verified
An enjoyable stay at Footsteps For the second year in row we enjoyed very much our stay at Footsteps. The roundhouses are very clean and comfortable, good wifi, hot water and a very good bed. We appreciated very much the tasty food they serve, the seafood kebab was the best dinner we had in the Gambia... Especially nature lovers will enjoy the large garden, full of birds... Thanks David and the whole crew for the exellentnservice.
Jackum B
28 December 2023
Verified
An eco hideaway in the Gambian forest. A perfect place to be: peacefully situated in the forest, with gorgeous Gambian birds chattering away in the background. Lovely salads and an excellent buffet dinner. Footsteps has nice rooms, nice staff and an altogether friendly and helpful atmosphere.
alisono27
26 December 2023
Verified
A lovely mature eco-resort, great for relaxing, birding and enjoying The Gambia. We found this fabulous eco lodge, a perfect place to relax and explore southern Gambia. Rooms are individual huts which are spacious and stay relatively cool. David, the lodge owner has been here 25 years and the compound has a lot of lovely mature shady trees and plants. We didn’t miss air con. The composting loo works really well. We had visited The Gambia with birding in mind. The local guide, Lamin Bojang is very knowledgeable and there are a number of local places with an abundance of gorgeous birds. It was the beginning of dry season and surprisingly few biting insects. The staff are very local Gambians, friendly, making you feel very welcome and cared for. We are now looking at all our photos and thinking we will definately plan a return visit one day.
Vigdis J
14 December 2023
Verified
The authentic and peaceful Gambia It is just beautiful to wake up to birds singing and coffee ready just outside the african huts after a good night sleep in a comfortable bed. The staff is wonderful and food is very good. And to walk for twenty minutes to a beach that is quiet away from the typical tourist places is also a bonus. Highly recommended!
Bodyfix B
13 December 2023
Verified
What an incredible week We just arrived home from a magical weeks stay. My sister & I stayed in Tickety Boo lodge for 7 days. It was so beautiful waking up to the birds, the butterflies and the people. Eating breakfast under the trees with all of the other guests is a fab way to start the day. Finding out where everyone is going and what they are up to. We would the. Return to the lodge for dinner all together at the camp to debrief about our adventures! The staff at Footsteps make everything so much more special. Everyone is so so friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to make sure you face what you need. David & Linda were fab hosts and it was lovely to have such knowledge in the lodge about the area and places to see and go. I had a bracelet and a ring made from the silver smith on camp. A beautiful wooden pot from the incredible carpenter and those amazing print trousers from the tailor. I also really enjoy an earlier walk with the Camps bird watching expert Lamin. The camp itself is located in the most beautiful spot, away from hustle n bustle but not too far to reach the village of Gunjur. And the beautiful Sunshine beach bar is a very pretty 20 min walk away. We’ve met friends that will stay in contact and found a place will be 1000% be back to. Thankyou to Osman for being an awesome driver. And thankyou for David & Linda for having such an incredible slice of paradise to share.

Share your experience

Writing reviews about Footsteps Eco-lodge is a great way to share your experience and help others.

We have a lovely paper guestbook at the lodge, but you would have to come to visit us to read it.

A fantastic idea, yet we understand you might want to read those comments before you come on holiday!

Have you stayed with us? 

Would you like to share your reviews about Footsteps Eco-lodge experience with those people looking for hotel accommodation in The Gambia and the team of Footsteps?

Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon!

Google verified holiday reviews about Footsteps Eco-lodge!

Read our 1 bad review! 🟢 🟢

Reviewed Dec 2017

Great staff and location, but….

“Fantastic secluded location with access to the real gambian experience of nature, country and seaside. Local staff were very welcoming, accomodating and hospitable. Lodges were fairly secluded and very clean. But, on the down side, no electric plugs in each lodge, showers were often just cold water with very little pressure, bottled water very expensive on site, Wi-Fi only in place in one area for entire location and tourist trips ludicrously expensive and often calculated at different rates for different people with management taking large cuts from the locals. We would definitely recommend the Gambia but not unfortunately Footsteps….”

Response from David W, Owner at Footsteps Eco Lodge

Responded 17 Dec 2017

“Hello John and thank you for your feedback which while quite disappointing for my team and myself is of course reflective of your experience.
I would like to take this opportunity to answer some of your points.
Our lodges have never had electric power points and we have never advertised as such, in fact we specifically mention in our website advertising that indeed there is no power in the huts and that items such as cameras and smart devices are charged in our dedicated charging area in reception.
Our showers are solar and brand new and have been extremely well received by our visitors. There is nothing more we can do to get more pressure or more hot water out of a solar powered system and can only apologise if you felt we did not deliver a suitable shower.
Our bottled water is available at 60 dalasi for a one and half litre bottle which is in line with most other establishments in Gambia, we also offer the bottle frozen so it stays cold and refreshing for our guests throughout the whole day at no extra charge.
Our wifi is advertised as not being available throughout all our rooms but available in the main areas. Also our wifi is free to our guests and we make it very clear indeed it is not fast or reliable, it may interest you to know that we pay almost £100 per month just to achieve what we do and once again we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
Our pricing for trips is clear on our website and I can absolutely assure you that our guides are paid extremely well. There are guides outside the lodge which offer inferior trips for less money and these guides often try to persuade our guests that its better to go with them, it is not and in fact does not support a good business model for the local area or its people. All in all a very disappointing review for us which has come as a shock for the whole team but rest assured we will never stop striving to be the very best we can 😀”

NB – Since 2017 we have installed power in each of our rooms and also have led the charge to become a plastic-free lodge by supplying FREE filtered water to all of our guests.

You can find plenty more reviews about Footsteps Eco-lodge. We are now in their ‘Hall of Fame’, having consistently achieved a ‘Certificate of Excellence for each of the previous 5 years. Indeed, since the day we opened in 2002, we are proud that 97% of our guests have rated their vacation at Footsteps Eco-lodge with a 4 or 5-star review. We hope you’ll agree!

EN_GB
Scroll to Top